Night Music

Essays on Music 1928-1962

Theodor W. Adorno

Translated by Wieland Hoban


5 x 8 inches, 690 pp. February 2017

ISBN : 9780857424501

Rs  599.00 (PB)
$24.50 (PB)
£16.99 (PB)

Buy (PB)

Night Music presents the first complete English translations of two collections of texts compiled by Theodor W. Adorno—Moments Musicaux and Theory of Music. The essays in Moments Musicaux include extended aesthetic analyses that demonstrate Adorno's aim of applying high philosophical standards to the study of music. Theory of New Music presents his thoughts and theories in the compostion, reception and analysis of the msuic that was being written around him. Though Adorno's advocacy of the Second Viennese School of music is well know, many of his writings in the field have remained obscure. The insightful texts in Night Music show the breadth of Adorno's musical understanding and reveal an overlooked side to this significant thinker. 

Theodor W. Adorno (1903–69) was the author of Minima Moralia, Philosophy of Modern Music, and Prisms, among many other books. 


Wieland Hoban is a British composer who lives in Germany. He has translated several works from German, including many by Theodor W. Adorno.

German List